Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

3 Pages123>
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline Davide Carpi  
#1 Posted : 11 February 2014 13:14:59(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,214
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1120 time(s) in 731 post(s)
2015-11-08 15_43_34-SMath Studio Desktop - [slider.exe].png


  • requirements: SMath Studio 0.96.5146 or later;
  • installation: download the plugin from the gallery (be sure to have the "Exclude beta-versions" unchecked);
  • documentation: see Slider Region.sm (27kb) downloaded 180 time(s).;
  • sources: all the updated sources are available in the SVN repository.


>>> PLEASE REPORT IN THIS THREAD ANY ISSUE, MORE DETAILED AS POSSIBLE <<<

Edited by user 08 November 2015 18:16:27(UTC)  | Reason: updates

If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
thanks 4 users thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
on 11/02/2014(UTC),  on 11/02/2014(UTC),  on 11/02/2014(UTC),  on 08/11/2015(UTC)
Offline omorr  
#2 Posted : 11 February 2014 22:55:20(UTC)
omorr


Rank: Administration

Groups: Registered, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 23/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,731
Man
Serbia

Was thanked: 311 time(s) in 265 post(s)
Hello Davide,

It seems that Controls menu item appeared twice under Insert with two of your plugins. On is Insert=>Controls=>Slider as well as Insert=>Controls=>Numeric up-down

Regards,
Radovan
When Sisyphus climbed to the top of a hill, they said: "Wrong boulder!"
Offline Andrey Ivashov  
#3 Posted : 11 February 2014 22:55:25(UTC)
Andrey Ivashov


Rank: Administration

Groups: Developers, Registered, Knovel Developers, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 11/07/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,382
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1619 time(s) in 542 post(s)
It's great! Thank you!

I noticed one minor issue: "=" keyboard button handled as "+" by the control.

Regards.
Offline Andrey Ivashov  
#4 Posted : 11 February 2014 22:57:47(UTC)
Andrey Ivashov


Rank: Administration

Groups: Developers, Registered, Knovel Developers, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 11/07/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,382
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1619 time(s) in 542 post(s)
Originally Posted by: omorr Go to Quoted Post
It seems that Controls menu item appeared twice under Insert with two of your plugins. On is Insert=>Controls=>Slider as well as Insert=>Controls=>Numeric up-down

Thank you! Good catch! Good This is SMath Studio issue which will be fixed later. It is described here: http://en.smath.info/for...ns-having-childrens.aspx

Regards.
Offline omorr  
#5 Posted : 11 February 2014 23:05:00(UTC)
omorr


Rank: Administration

Groups: Registered, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 23/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,731
Man
Serbia

Was thanked: 311 time(s) in 265 post(s)
You are welcome,
Originally Posted by: smath Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: omorr Go to Quoted Post
It seems that Controls menu item appeared twice under Insert with two of your plugins. On is Insert=>Controls=>Slider as well as Insert=>Controls=>Numeric up-down

Thank you! Good catch! Good This is SMath Studio issue which will be fixed later. It is described here: http://en.smath.info/for...ns-having-childrens.aspx

By the way, it can be quite confusing an to long menu item without some reordering and grouping things of the Insert menu.

Regards,
Radovan
When Sisyphus climbed to the top of a hill, they said: "Wrong boulder!"
Offline Davide Carpi  
#6 Posted : 12 February 2014 02:35:04(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,214
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1120 time(s) in 731 post(s)
Originally Posted by: smath Go to Quoted Post
I noticed one minor issue: "=" keyboard button handled as "+" by the control.

Seems a little big problem... I noticed now that english and russian layouts have "+" and "=" on the same key, and the plus symbol needs the SHIFT modifier; in the italian layout the "=" key is activated with the "SHIFT"+"0" combination and the "+" sign is in the same key of the "*", but is activated without SHIFT modifier.

So the question is: how I can use the Keys.Oemplus without localization issues? (because I suppose that the Italian layout is not alone in the universe of the keyboard layouts) Crazy

With the premise that it is not critical ("=" should not be used in this region), looking the web seems to me that the OnKeyDown is the wrong event to check this, the OnKeyPress probably should be better (but I'm not sure).

Originally Posted by: omorr Go to Quoted Post
By the way, it can be quite confusing an to long menu item without some reordering and grouping things of the Insert menu.

I think also that something is in the wrong place (like the Martin's Maxima items or my Development tools, these should be moved in the "Tools" menu - but this is a secondary thing)

Edited by user 12 February 2014 03:27:49(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

Davide Carpi attached the following image(s):
english.png
italian.png
German.png
If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
Offline mkraska  
#7 Posted : 09 March 2014 01:27:10(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,515
Germany

Was thanked: 807 time(s) in 516 post(s)
I'd propose to bind doubleclick to the settings menu, just like in the numeric-up-down region.
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Offline Davide Carpi  
#8 Posted : 10 March 2014 13:32:08(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,214
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1120 time(s) in 731 post(s)
I will think about this; in one hand I don't like that the first click may change the thumb location, in the other hand this has not much importance accessing to the settings dialog...
If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
Offline Ber7  
#9 Posted : 13 March 2014 18:37:35(UTC)
Ber7


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/07/2010(UTC)
Posts: 330
Man
Israel
Location: Beer-Sheva

Was thanked: 425 time(s) in 230 post(s)
Originally Posted by: smath Go to Quoted Post
It's great! Thank you!



File Attachment(s):
Slider.rar (391kb) downloaded 68 time(s).
thanks 1 user thanked Ber7 for this useful post.
on 14/03/2014(UTC)
Offline Davide Carpi  
#10 Posted : 14 March 2014 02:37:06(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,214
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1120 time(s) in 731 post(s)
Nice work ber Yes

Originally Posted by: ioan92 Go to Quoted Post
In order to improve the practical usability of the slider, I propose, of course if it is possible, to include inside the object draw, labels for the current selected value and also for the minimum and the maximum values at least.

Hi Ioan,

it's not impossible, just a little bit annoying Good

I think that I can add both the solutions (current value and start/end values).

BTW in the preliminary "documentation stage" of this plugin, I've seen some sliders using primary ticks (with optional numbering) and secondary ticks (without numbering). This was discarded because the approach is completely different from that used in the standard .NET controls, so the SMath Viewer would have been a big tricky (with total rewriting of the default Control code)


Best regards,

Davide

Edited by user 14 March 2014 04:26:24(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
thanks 1 user thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
on 14/03/2014(UTC)
Offline Davide Carpi  
#11 Posted : 18 March 2014 02:04:14(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,214
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1120 time(s) in 731 post(s)
UPDATED

(SMath Studio 0.97.5189)

- code updated to fit the new APIs features;
- settings with double-click over the region (as for the other control regions);
- hidden the outer frame (still remains as transparent to avoid interferences with resize markers).
If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
Offline Davide Carpi  
#12 Posted : 22 March 2014 20:32:30(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,214
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1120 time(s) in 731 post(s)
UPDATED

(SMath Studio 0.97.5189)

- SMath Viewer: uses the region description (if exist and is shown).

If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
thanks 1 user thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
on 22/03/2014(UTC)
Offline Davide Carpi  
#13 Posted : 09 April 2015 19:03:06(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,214
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1120 time(s) in 731 post(s)
PLUGIN UPDATED SMath Studio 0.97.5576 (08 April 2015)

- Fixed unintentional change of value on resize;
- Yesterday: Plugin updated to respect changes in SS Core;
- Yesterday: fixed MouseWheel vs recalculation;
- Yesterday: fixed +/- keys vs keyboard layout;

Edited by user 09 April 2015 20:40:45(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
thanks 1 user thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
on 10/04/2015(UTC)
Offline Davide Carpi  
#14 Posted : 05 November 2015 22:04:12(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,214
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1120 time(s) in 731 post(s)
PLUGIN UPDATED SMath Studio 0.97.5737

- Introduced settings from canvas (see attachment);
- History Undo/Redo now is supported;

canvas settings.sm (23kb) downloaded 62 time(s).

Edited by user 06 November 2015 01:56:30(UTC)  | Reason: attachment updated

If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
thanks 4 users thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
on 05/11/2015(UTC),  on 06/11/2015(UTC),  on 06/11/2015(UTC),  on 06/11/2015(UTC)
Offline Davide Carpi  
#15 Posted : 06 November 2015 02:06:25(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,214
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1120 time(s) in 731 post(s)
Hi Ioan Good


Originally Posted by: ioan92 Go to Quoted Post
For practical use, I have two question:
1. "settings_numUpDown" is a dedicated unique name for parameters settings ?

You can define a different set of settings for each control in the worksheet, and you can use the name you want; I've changed the variable name in the attachment, to avoid misunderstandings.


Originally Posted by: ioan92 Go to Quoted Post
2. for each of a set of controls, the "CustomVarName" used is the last one declared ?

The last definition before each single control is the only one parsed and loaded (if valid). If you override the variable between two controls which are linked to the same variable, the 2nd control will contains different settings than the first.


BTW I've updated both Slider and NumericUpDown regions, now the list of available settings is alphabetically sorted and subscripts in variable names are localization-proof.

Edited by user 06 November 2015 03:05:31(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
thanks 1 user thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
on 06/11/2015(UTC)
Offline Jean Giraud  
#16 Posted : 08 November 2015 09:50:06(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 4,135
Canada

Was thanked: 727 time(s) in 569 post(s)
"As for now, do not use this plugin for productivity."
____________________________________

Amazing: my Smath came with the slider, I played a bit and found useless
as not having the fractional range from script. Whether useless for me
is not my point. My point is that now it is gone from the insert menu.
How come it died by itself ? On the other hand, the Mathcad slider was
not recognised by PDF.
Offline Davide Carpi  
#17 Posted : 08 November 2015 14:46:42(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,214
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1120 time(s) in 731 post(s)
Hello Jean Good

Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post
"As for now, do not use this plugin for productivity."

I can remove this warning, the plugin is stable and I've not noticed requests of deep changes in the core features.

Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post
Amazing: my Smath came with the slider

This is not possible. A clean installation (no SS available before or deep cleaning after an unistall) comes out with the plugins shown in the spoiler. If you have any other plugin it is because they were installed in a previous version of SMath Studio, manually downloaded from the Extensions Manager or downloaded by opening worksheets in which these plugins are used.


Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post
I played a bit and found useless
as not having the fractional range from script.

To provide compatibility with the Windows trackbar in SMath Viewer any value (max value, min value, increment, output value) must be an integer; to mitigate this limitation I've introduced a scale factor.

Originally Posted by: Jean Giraud Go to Quoted Post
My point is that now it is gone from the insert menu.
How come it died by itself?

You can see a document that contains this plugin without the "Slider" item in the insert menu? Huh
2015-11-08 12_46_24-SMath Studio Desktop - [Page1].png

Edited by user 08 November 2015 14:48:58(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
Offline Davide Carpi  
#18 Posted : 29 February 2016 01:52:59(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,214
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1120 time(s) in 731 post(s)
Hello Ioan,

As for now there aren't labels in this region, neither for the ticks nor for the current value.

The only way to display the value is to place a math region near the control.

2016-02-28 23_48_42-SMath Studio Desktop - [slider.sm].png


BTW, fixed missing settings on save. PLUGIN UPDATED.
If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
thanks 1 user thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
on 29/02/2016(UTC)
Offline Davide Carpi  
#19 Posted : 29 February 2016 18:55:30(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,214
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1120 time(s) in 731 post(s)
Possible it is possible, the effort is to made something consistant with the already implemented features (f.e. the vertical style)

I've updated the plugin adding a label for the current value (SMath Studio/SMath Viewer)

2016-02-29 16_53_00-SMath Studio Desktop - [slider.sm_].png
If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
thanks 1 user thanked Davide Carpi for this useful post.
on 29/02/2016(UTC)
Offline Davide Carpi  
#20 Posted : 29 February 2016 19:43:51(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,214
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1120 time(s) in 731 post(s)
Hello Ioan,

the label should be visible by default on cursor changes.

slider.gif
If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
Users browsing this topic
3 Pages123>
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.