Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline Andrey Ivashov  
#1 Posted : 01 June 2012 01:55:30(UTC)
Andrey Ivashov


Rank: Administration

Groups: Developers, Registered, Knovel Developers, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 11/07/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,356
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1567 time(s) in 525 post(s)
New feature is introduced in SMath Studio 0.94.4535 - Absolute Definitions.



The same is for functions (which starts from ~).

This feature is not the same as used in Mathcad (called Global Definitions). Absolute Definitions designed to introduce a built-in way to send data from the bottom of the Worksheet to it's top.


Example: absoluteDefinitionsExample.sm.

Any questions are welcome Good

Best regards, Andrey Ivashov.
thanks 2 users thanked Andrey Ivashov for this useful post.
on 01/06/2012(UTC),  on 01/06/2012(UTC)
Offline omorr  
#2 Posted : 01 June 2012 12:12:52(UTC)
omorr


Rank: Administration

Groups: Registered, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 23/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,698
Man
Serbia

Was thanked: 300 time(s) in 257 post(s)
Hello Andrey,

Thank you for this new feature. I have to say that using those variables might be quite useful, but sometimes a bit confusing.

Regarding your example, and by playing a bit, I could see that the region will be "someVar=0" when you open the file. When you repeat Recalculate page, someVar will have values 1,2,3,4.....which is expected to be. On the other hand if you move that region above and below if clause subsequently, then the values will have step two, actually you will get 21,23,25...

I've also noted that with the simple example
1: a:=1
2: a:=a+1
3: a=2
4: a:=6

Now, if you move 4: below 1: you will get ("a" will be 7 as expected)

1: a:=1
4: a:=6
2: a:=a+1
3: a=7

When you just move it back, then "a" becomes 8?
If you continue moving 4: below 1: and back, value of "a" will get values 7 and 8 subsequently

1: a:=1
2: a:=a+1
3: a=8
4: a:=6

When you recalculate page at this time, "a" will become 2, as expected.

Is there something I do not understand here?. I think that this moving the definition of an absolute variable above and below the region when that variable changes the value is a bit problematic at the moment. I think that variable should not change the value when we get it back. Aactualy, I think that variable "a" should retain the value 7 and not change to 8.

Regards,
Radovan

Edited by user 01 June 2012 12:19:16(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

When Sisyphus climbed to the top of a hill, they said: "Wrong boulder!"
thanks 1 user thanked omorr for this useful post.
on 01/06/2012(UTC)
Offline kmihaylovich  
#3 Posted : 01 June 2012 12:28:18(UTC)
kmihaylovich


Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 22/06/2010(UTC)
Posts: 13
Location: Питер

Was thanked: 5 time(s) in 4 post(s)
This is because program evaluates only expressions affected by the change. So when you move a back to the bottom SMath Studio performs evaluation starting from second expression and not from the top.
thanks 1 user thanked kmihaylovich for this useful post.
on 01/06/2012(UTC)
Offline omorr  
#4 Posted : 01 June 2012 14:01:47(UTC)
omorr


Rank: Administration

Groups: Registered, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 23/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,698
Man
Serbia

Was thanked: 300 time(s) in 257 post(s)
Hello,
Originally Posted by: kmihaylovich Go to Quoted Post
This is because program evaluates only expressions affected by the change. So when you move a back to the bottom SMath Studio performs evaluation starting from second expression and not from the top.

Thank you, I think I understand now Good

By the way, could someone reproduce this. I tried to make an absolute function and then the region disappeared, and everything else disappeared. I got it back by clicking in the worksheet area. It happened to me few times before, sometimes SMath crashed, but could not reproduce it. Look at this video, please.

Regions disappear

Regards,
Radovan

When Sisyphus climbed to the top of a hill, they said: "Wrong boulder!"
Offline Davide Carpi  
#5 Posted : 01 June 2012 14:33:19(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,181
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1102 time(s) in 723 post(s)
Originally Posted by: omorr Go to Quoted Post
Hello,

...

By the way, could someone reproduce this. I tried to make an absolute function and then the region disappeared, and everything else disappeared. I got it back by clicking in the worksheet area. It happened to me few times before, sometimes SMath crashed, but could not reproduce it. Look at this video, please.

Regions disappear

Regards,
Radovan



I confirm... it's not the absolute value, but the assignment ":" (sequence to reproduce the issue: ~ -> f -> ( -> x -> "->" -> : )

the ~ can be obtained by typing "Alt" + 0126 (from numpad)



I think the bolded function obtained by typing ~ before the name can be very interesting...


bolded_function

regards,

w3b5urf3r

Edited by user 02 June 2012 22:58:01(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
Offline omorr  
#6 Posted : 01 June 2012 14:40:27(UTC)
omorr


Rank: Administration

Groups: Registered, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 23/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,698
Man
Serbia

Was thanked: 300 time(s) in 257 post(s)
Thank you,
Originally Posted by: w3b5urf3r_reloaded Go to Quoted Post
I confirm... it's not the absolute value, but the assignement ":"

I agree and it seems it happened sometimes when the assignment is used. I just bumped into it when tried to use absolute functions.

I think this might be considered as a bug then.

Regards,
Radovan

When Sisyphus climbed to the top of a hill, they said: "Wrong boulder!"
Offline Jean Giraud  
#7 Posted : 16 February 2016 07:25:55(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 3,703
Canada

Was thanked: 685 time(s) in 534 post(s)
Originally Posted by: omorr Go to Quoted Post
By the way, could someone reproduce this. I tried to make an absolute function and then the region disappeared, and everything else disappeared. I got it back by clicking in the worksheet area. It happened to me few times before, sometimes SMath crashed, but could not reproduce it. Look at this video, pleas


Hello Radovan,

Watching your video about Smath turning blue is occasional.
Worst when it turns all white. Tip, open another work sheet
go back to the working work sheet ... back on foot.
Sometimes it crashes for true, because truly bad syntax.

I don't understand the problem of assigning absolute
........... f(x):=A*|(x-xo)^0.0625|

Gamma planet is slow in my Smath, hope yours is faster.
You will have to plug the image in your system.
The bold, if it works as bad as in Mathcad 11, bad luck.
In Mathcad 11 it didn't save settings, so you had to
redefine again. IMHO, purely classroom demo.

Jean

AltKeySymbol02.gif
AltKeySymbolExtend01.gif
Image Planet Gamma.sm (102kb) downloaded 37 time(s).

Offline Jean Giraud  
#8 Posted : 16 February 2016 07:33:11(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 3,703
Canada

Was thanked: 685 time(s) in 534 post(s)
Hiiiiiiiiiiii !

Can hardly see the Smath work sheet attached.

Jean
Offline Jean Giraud  
#9 Posted : 16 February 2016 07:51:46(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 3,703
Canada

Was thanked: 685 time(s) in 534 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Davide Carpi Go to Quoted Post
I think the bolded function obtained by typing ~ before the name can be very interesting...


Not so sure, to see capital phi => size 24

Jean

Scrap Bold.sm (5kb) downloaded 39 time(s).

Offline Davide Carpi  
#10 Posted : 16 February 2016 10:32:22(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,181
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1102 time(s) in 723 post(s)
"Everything is relative"

2016-02-16 08_13_19-SMath Studio Desktop - [Scrap%20Bold.sm_].png

If you are working in a worksheet where 24pt is the default font-size, shouldn't be a problem.

But yes, bold notation has his own limits (even when used to distinguish a matrix from a scalar) :P

If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
Offline Jean Giraud  
#11 Posted : 16 February 2016 17:42:04(UTC)
Jean Giraud


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 04/07/2015(UTC)
Posts: 3,703
Canada

Was thanked: 685 time(s) in 534 post(s)
Smath recognises Alt+0key, but not Alt+0key symbol.
Smath does not have the "Font" plugin

Still very interesting for publishing.

Forum Alt0key.bmp

Jean
Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.