Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline aero  
#1 Posted : 17 November 2015 20:47:22(UTC)
aero

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 17/11/2015(UTC)
Posts: 1
United States
Location: Florida

Capture.PNG

I am getting the error of "Operation cannot be performed with units but I redefined the values with new variable names which has no unit but I am still getting the same error. I need suggestions to resolve this issue. I have attached the Smath file and a screen shot of the same.

Thanks !
Offline Ernesto  
#2 Posted : 17 November 2015 23:01:25(UTC)
Ernesto


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 03/02/2014(UTC)
Posts: 67
Nicaragua

Was thanked: 13 time(s) in 11 post(s)
Post the file.
Offline sinneD  
#3 Posted : 17 November 2015 23:07:51(UTC)
sinneD


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 12/03/2011(UTC)
Posts: 100
Location: Chicago

Was thanked: 16 time(s) in 7 post(s)
What is this a calc of? Do you have a good known example to check against?

Check your operations- calcs dependent on variables need to be below or to the right.

Your units are goofy. break out a pencil and paper and do the dimensional analysis to see how your calc is working, or really not working. SMath is REALLY good at keeping track of units. it is doing exactly what you are telling it to do.


Join the SMath Studio Users Discord Channel: https://discord.gg/PayZpJW
Offline Davide Carpi  
#4 Posted : 18 November 2015 02:23:20(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,418
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1203 time(s) in 794 post(s)
Seems that tanh(x) returns a "number above the max" error if x > 354, a "division by 0" error if x < -228 (reported as BUG SS-2284)

2015-11-18 00_13_26-SMath Studio Desktop - [Page1_].png

About the units, the tanh argument must be dimensionless; m*Lc can't be dimensionless because m is not the inverse of a length (your definition of m contains the Boltzmann constant and 2 lengths)

Edited by user 18 November 2015 03:34:41(UTC)  | Reason: bug reported

If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
Offline Andrey Ivashov  
#5 Posted : 18 November 2015 10:40:35(UTC)
Andrey Ivashov


Rank: Administration

Groups: Developers, Registered, Knovel Developers, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 11/07/2008(UTC)
Posts: 1,575
Man
Russian Federation

Was thanked: 1881 time(s) in 637 post(s)
Hello.

I've fixed this issue and here is corrected SMath.Math.Numeric.dll SMath.Math.Numeric.dll.7z (26kb) downloaded 78 time(s).
Please put it into installation directory of SMath Studio.

Fix will be included into new version of the program.

Regards.
thanks 4 users thanked Andrey Ivashov for this useful post.
on 18/11/2015(UTC),  on 18/11/2015(UTC),  on 18/11/2015(UTC),  on 18/11/2015(UTC)
Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.