Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

15 Pages«<56789>»
Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Offline mkraska  
#121 Posted : 28 May 2014 11:50:22(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,777
Germany

Was thanked: 980 time(s) in 625 post(s)
Originally Posted by: omorr Go to Quoted Post
I can not figured out what is going on here by looking at the log file. Please look at the picture and the attached file. If I use numbers inside distrib package functions I have the result, but if I use variables - problems arise. Am I missing something here?


This is a distrib package issue. By whatever reason, some functions in distrib seem to insist on floating point values for some of their arguments in order to issue a numeric result. Otherwise they return the unevaluated function form, which you do not see due to numeric optimization of your result display regions.
Maxima(quantile_student_t(α/2,30))=quantile.student.t(1/40,30)

Maxima(quantile_student_t(α/2,30.0))=-2.0423

In the current experimental SVN-version of Maxima plugin, there is no conversion of underscores to periods any more.

Here is the code of quantile_student_t:
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Offline omorr  
#122 Posted : 28 May 2014 16:36:48(UTC)
omorr


Rank: Administration

Groups: Registered, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 23/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,740
Man
Serbia

Was thanked: 318 time(s) in 268 post(s)
Thank you Martin. I have to admit that it is a bit strange and I would hardly guessed that. Sorry, but I did not quite understand why this is necessary in SMath now but not in wxMaxima for instance (see the picture). Therefore, due to the changes in Maxima plugin this example - distrib-maxima is outdated and does not work anymore.

Regards,
Radovan

Edited by user 28 May 2014 16:42:18(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

omorr attached the following image(s):
wxMaximadistrib.png
When Sisyphus climbed to the top of a hill, they said: "Wrong boulder!"
Offline mkraska  
#123 Posted : 28 May 2014 18:00:18(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,777
Germany

Was thanked: 980 time(s) in 625 post(s)
Originally Posted by: omorr Go to Quoted Post
Thank you Martin. I have to admit that it is a bit strange and I would hardly guessed that. Sorry, but I did not quite understand why this is necessary in SMath now but not in wxMaxima for instance (see the picture). Therefore, due to the changes in Maxima plugin this example - distrib-maxima is outdated and does not work anymore.

To me that looks strange as well. However, it is not the plugin to blame. Your wxMaxima example uses 5.31.1-1, whereas the plugin seems to use 5.33 in your previous post. There seem to be differences in the distrib package between these versions. I'll ask in the maxima list about the backgrounds.

Edit: All the problems are gone if you switch the definition of alpha from symbolic to numeric optimization. (As always ;-)
In wxMaxima, a is considered to be a float and so is a/2. In SMath, defining a as 0,05 with symbolic optimizaition, immediately changes that to 1/20, which is not a float anymore.

Edited by user 28 May 2014 18:22:55(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

mkraska attached the following image(s):
distrib.png
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Offline omorr  
#124 Posted : 28 May 2014 18:33:38(UTC)
omorr


Rank: Administration

Groups: Registered, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 23/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,740
Man
Serbia

Was thanked: 318 time(s) in 268 post(s)
You are right about different in Maxima versions - but I am still puzzled. In my example I was using both SMath Desktop (Maxima 5.31.1-1) and SMath Portable (Maxima 53.3.0) and the behavior was the same in Smath - see the picture and the first line at the top Maxima(load( distrib )) distrib-float previous post. You are right that my wxMaxima was 5.31.1-1 - this post regularly installed on my office machine.

I tried your previous example at my home computer in wxMaxima (Maxima 53.3.0) and and it is the same problem with SMath and wxMaxima regarding floats and distrib package.

A bit confusing, Umnik . I'll check it tomorrow once more - I might made a mistake.

Regards,
Radovan
[EDIT]
Originally Posted by: mkraska Go to Quoted Post

Edit: All the problems are gone if you switch the definition of alpha from symbolic to numeric optimization. (As always ;-)
In wxMaxima, a is considered to be a float and so is a/2. In SMath, defining a as 0,05 with symbolic optimizaition, immediately changes that to 1/20, which is not a float anymore.


I can not simply believe it Shok Shok Shok . It happened again. If someone else would have had this problem, that would be the first thing I would suggest.

Edited by user 28 May 2014 18:46:31(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

omorr attached the following image(s):
maxima 533.png
When Sisyphus climbed to the top of a hill, they said: "Wrong boulder!"
Offline mkraska  
#125 Posted : 12 June 2014 02:17:34(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,777
Germany

Was thanked: 980 time(s) in 625 post(s)
Plugin updated.

Changes:
- SS-94 Portable configuration enabled
- SS-95 Path selection dialog in the Maxima settings window
- SS-88 Fit() for curve fitting implemented
- SS-81 Translation problem with elliptic_e() fixed
- SS-128 Translation problem with user_preamble fixed
- SS-148 Translation of , and _ in names reworked

Updates to come soon:
- Portable version including pre-installed Maxima
- Image region with external edit capability (Kay is in contact with uni for update/upload details)
- interactive handbook
- Draw help snippet (option help texts in english)
File Attachment(s):
Update12.sm (38kb) downloaded 84 time(s).
mkraska attached the following image(s):
update12.PNG
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
thanks 2 users thanked mkraska for this useful post.
on 12/06/2014(UTC),  on 12/06/2014(UTC)
Offline omorr  
#126 Posted : 12 June 2014 14:49:37(UTC)
omorr


Rank: Administration

Groups: Registered, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 23/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,740
Man
Serbia

Was thanked: 318 time(s) in 268 post(s)
Originally Posted by: mkraska Go to Quoted Post

Updates to come soon:
- Portable version including pre-installed Maxima
- Image region with external edit capability (Kay is in contact with uni for update/upload details)
- interactive handbook
- Draw help snippet (option help texts in english)

Thank you all Good

Martin, what did you mean by "- Image region with external edit capability"? Just curious.

Regards,
Radovan
When Sisyphus climbed to the top of a hill, they said: "Wrong boulder!"
Offline Davide Carpi  
#127 Posted : 12 June 2014 16:35:37(UTC)
Davide Carpi


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Advanced Member
Joined: 13/01/2012(UTC)
Posts: 2,533
Man
Italy
Location: Italy

Was thanked: 1269 time(s) in 834 post(s)
Originally Posted by: omorr Go to Quoted Post
Martin, what did you mean by "- Image region with external edit capability"? Just curious.


I think he means that this project will be embedded in the maxima plugin Good

If you like my plugins please consider a donation to SMath Studio; for personal contributions to me: paypal.me/dcprojects
Offline omorr  
#128 Posted : 12 June 2014 17:07:11(UTC)
omorr


Rank: Administration

Groups: Registered, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 23/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,740
Man
Serbia

Was thanked: 318 time(s) in 268 post(s)
Originally Posted by: w3b5urf3r_reloaded Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: omorr Go to Quoted Post
Martin, what did you mean by "- Image region with external edit capability"? Just curious.


I think he means that this project will be embedded in the maxima plugin Good


Ah yes, I remembered now. Thank you Davide Good .

Regards,
Radovan
When Sisyphus climbed to the top of a hill, they said: "Wrong boulder!"
Offline mkraska  
#129 Posted : 12 June 2014 18:16:00(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,777
Germany

Was thanked: 980 time(s) in 625 post(s)
Originally Posted by: omorr Go to Quoted Post

Martin, what did you mean by "- Image region with external edit capability"? Just curious.

As Davide said, this is the former ImageEditRegion, which is derived from uni's image region and finally some day will be merged with it again. Kay is in contact with uni in order to manage the details. Meanwhile, in the portable distribution, I just exchanged the imageregion.dll in the imageregion plugin. This is somewhat dirty but I just want to roll out the portable version. The region is completely independent of Maxima.

Still there is work on Maxima-based interactive plot regions, but that is not coming soon.

Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Offline mkraska  
#130 Posted : 12 June 2014 19:27:30(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,777
Germany

Was thanked: 980 time(s) in 625 post(s)
The Maxima plugin has come to a new level of usability:

A ready-to-use portable version including a full Maxima installation is available for download. The download is approx. 60 MB, extracted you get 160 MB, mainly due to Maxima, but also due to the documentation.

Basically, you can unzip the file wherever you want and launch SMathStudio_Desktop.exe.

More fun is gained if you link file extensions .sm to SMathStudio_Desktop.exe and png files to some image editor, say, Paint.

The attached screenshot is from welcome.sm in the root directory of the distribution.

There is a new Image Region included.

Try Insert> Image. You get an empty region with some text informing you about the options:
  • Double click to launch the image editor with an empty image - that's how you can create illustrations on the fly
  • Import an existing image via context menu
  • Specify a file name in the placeholder to dynamically display that file
  • Specify a matrix to dynamically display it's contents (just like with the original image region by uni

You can dynamically (with the mouse) resize the region and reset it to the original size via context menu.
The expression in the placeholder is evaluated by the region, thus you can place any commands generating file names or matrices just there. And hide the whole lot if you wish. No need for intermediate storage variables any more.

The image region is not yet in the online gallery of the extension manager. Kay and uni have to find a way how we can publish the region without irritating the user by two image regions.

When testing the distribution on my wife's notebook, I had to reset the screen font scaling to 100% in order to not spoil the formatting of the interactive handbook.

Please report any issue.

mkraska attached the following image(s):
welcome.PNG
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
thanks 5 users thanked mkraska for this useful post.
on 12/06/2014(UTC),  on 12/06/2014(UTC),  on 12/06/2014(UTC),  on 13/06/2014(UTC),  on 14/06/2014(UTC)
Offline mkraska  
#131 Posted : 16 June 2014 00:43:12(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,777
Germany

Was thanked: 980 time(s) in 625 post(s)
There is an extremly dangerous bug (can silently lead to wrong results) in the translation of expressions with powers to Maxima.

SS-159
This might be related to wrong results provided by Optimization None (SS-160). However, if at all, that can only be partial excuse, because for optimization symbolic or numeric the bug appears depending on what the variable name is.

EDIT: This problem is mitigated by switching to SMath release 0.97.5280 (SS-160 fixed)

Edited by user 16 June 2014 03:00:46(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

mkraska attached the following image(s):
exponent.png
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Offline mkraska  
#132 Posted : 16 June 2014 01:32:01(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,777
Germany

Was thanked: 980 time(s) in 625 post(s)
The ImageRegion as contained in the portable SMath with Maxima distribution seems to occasionally loose data.

By whatever reason, the region looses contact to the temporary image file. This happened to me three time just when I tried to save the file. Then I got an error message saying that the file does not exist.

In that case the only chance to keep your image is to make a screenshot, delete the region, create a new one, open in the editor and paste the screenshot.

Sorry for the inconvenience, we try to fix that.
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Offline mkraska  
#133 Posted : 21 June 2014 14:41:11(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,777
Germany

Was thanked: 980 time(s) in 625 post(s)
Upgraded to SMath 0.97.5283

This fixes issue SS-159 and comes with some units improvements.

Handbooks updated (pdf and interactive)
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
thanks 1 user thanked mkraska for this useful post.
on 21/06/2014(UTC)
Offline mkraska  
#134 Posted : 28 June 2014 19:02:39(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,777
Germany

Was thanked: 980 time(s) in 625 post(s)
Originally Posted by: mkraska Go to Quoted Post
The ImageRegion as contained in the portable SMath with Maxima distribution seems to occasionally loose data.


The problem is that multiple instances of SMath use the same scratch dir for images. When one of the instances is closed, then this dir is cleaned up.

To be safe, just run a single instance (multiple open documents are ok).
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Offline Dr. Parnassus  
#135 Posted : 21 July 2014 11:00:30(UTC)
Dr. Parnassus

Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Joined: 24/02/2014(UTC)
Posts: 4
Man
Switzerland

Hi Martin,

I have also problems with the eigenvectors-funktion.
Since some days I use the very useful and well dokumentationed Maxima-Plugin.
Maxima: 5.33.0.1
SMath: 097.5154

There eare two Problems at the moment:
* more and more maxima-tasks are startet, so the system crashed (see the screenshot)
* eigenvalues in SMath can't be solved but maxima can (there


I tried to find out the reasens but i didn't.
Thanks for your help and best regards
File Attachment(s):
SVD.sm (7kb) downloaded 47 time(s).
M1_wxMaxima.bmp (1,539kb) downloaded 44 time(s).
Dr. Parnassus attached the following image(s):
taskmanager.bmp
Offline mkraska  
#136 Posted : 21 July 2014 13:00:25(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,777
Germany

Was thanked: 980 time(s) in 625 post(s)
Originally Posted by: Dr. Parnassus Go to Quoted Post


There eare two Problems at the moment:
* more and more maxima-tasks are startet, so the system crashed (see the screenshot)
* eigenvalues in SMath can't be solved but maxima can (there

Thanks for reporting the problem.

I can reproduce the problem with SMath 0.97.5301 and Maxima 5.33.0
However, I do not get a solution in Maxima (may be I did not wait long enough).

The handling of hanging maxima processes is poor in the plugin. I'll add the example to the bug tracking system.
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Offline Alex M.  
#137 Posted : 01 August 2014 23:45:45(UTC)
Alex M.


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 03/03/2014(UTC)
Posts: 414
Canada

Was thanked: 123 time(s) in 94 post(s)
Hi,

It should be very simple but I have spent an hour trying to extract result of the maxima Solve() function so it can be used further in the notebook.

This is what I did and it does not quite work. Do you guys have a suggestion? I feel that I am missing something crucial..

Thank you!!!

Edited by user 01 August 2014 23:47:23(UTC)  | Reason: Not specified

File Attachment(s):
Page1.sm (7kb) downloaded 34 time(s).
Alex M. attached the following image(s):
Untitled.png
Offline mkraska  
#138 Posted : 02 August 2014 01:58:34(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,777
Germany

Was thanked: 980 time(s) in 625 post(s)
You want the function Assign()
File Attachment(s):
_Solve.sm (32kb) downloaded 61 time(s).
Assign.sm (20kb) downloaded 61 time(s).
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
Offline mkraska  
#139 Posted : 04 August 2014 01:37:09(UTC)
mkraska


Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Joined: 15/04/2012(UTC)
Posts: 1,777
Germany

Was thanked: 980 time(s) in 625 post(s)
Plugin updated.

Changes:
- SS-140 and SS-178 improved handling of hanging processes
- SS-152 Translation bug with at() fixed
- SS-166 Missing bracket fixed
- SS-184 Correct tramslation of decimal exponents
- SS-185 Improved info texts
- New interactive Maxima Draw2D/3D regions
- Enhanced png Draw output
File Attachment(s):
Update13.sm (118kb) downloaded 64 time(s).
mkraska attached the following image(s):
update13.PNG
Martin Kraska

Pre-configured portable distribution of SMath Studio: https://en.smath.info/wi...th%20with%20Plugins.ashx
thanks 1 user thanked mkraska for this useful post.
on 04/08/2014(UTC)
Offline omorr  
#140 Posted : 04 August 2014 11:33:58(UTC)
omorr


Rank: Administration

Groups: Registered, Administrators, Advanced Member
Joined: 23/06/2009(UTC)
Posts: 1,740
Man
Serbia

Was thanked: 318 time(s) in 268 post(s)
Very interesting Good

Of course, it is a bit unstable at the moment. Sometimes strange things happen. The part of the notebook moves into the Draw2D(), Draw3D() region and scrolling is inside that region. SMath crashes then. I can not reproduce this at the moment, sorry.

Regards,
Radovan
omorr attached the following image(s):
draw2ddialog.png
When Sisyphus climbed to the top of a hill, they said: "Wrong boulder!"
thanks 1 user thanked omorr for this useful post.
on 04/08/2014(UTC)
Users browsing this topic
Similar Topics
Solve Function Stuck (46/47) with Maxima Plugin (Questions)
by Albedo 30/08/2022 05:24:23(UTC)
[Maxima Plugin] Text exportation issue (Questions)
by SteelCat 11/01/2022 12:47:31(UTC)
Maxima Plugin problem (Bugs & Problems)
by FT_PENG 23/12/2021 23:49:19(UTC)
Text characters not passing correctly to Maxima plugin (Bugs & Problems)
by gurro 15/08/2021 00:14:03(UTC)
[Maxima Plugin] is a custom Maxima function call-able in SMath (Questions)
by 007.000 22/05/2018 13:06:49(UTC)
[Maxima Plugin] least common multiple (Questions)
by 007.000 22/05/2018 12:13:20(UTC)
news for Maxima Plugin (Questions)
by oscampo 27/01/2016 18:39:35(UTC)
Maxima plugin error (Bugs & Problems)
by olik 30/11/2015 10:17:28(UTC)
15 Pages«<56789>»
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.